Ghalib!!!

Here it goes… My very first post on Ghalib. Basically copy n paste only 🙂

Ghalib

Translation in english:
Worth seeing is the spirit of my uncontrollble desire,
Causing the edge of the sword to unfurl from its sheath.

Explanation:
My desire to sacrifice myself is so intense that the sword edge has come out of its casing. The sword finds me so ripe for sacrifice that it cannot control itself to grant me my wish. The explusion of breath further symbolizes an expression of extreme desire to act.

~ by Rajeev on May 17, 2007.

3 Responses to “Ghalib!!!”

  1. Kya baat hai dost …
    kya ibteda hai gaalib saab ke liye..
    subhan-allah

  2. The beauty of this she’r lies in the fact that the word ‘dam’ means both ‘edge of the sword’ and ‘breath’.

    For some great commentary on this verse, check this:
    http://www.columbia.edu/itc/mealac/pritchett/00ghalib/001/1_03.html

    In fact, you can ‘discover’ Ghalib at this site:
    http://www.columbia.edu/itc/mealac/pritchett/00ghalib/ghazal_index.html?nagari

    I’m a great fan of Ghalib myself, and often write aboit his poetry on my blog:
    http://urgetofly.blogspirit.com/tag/Ghalib

  3. Subhan-allah Rajeev bhai

Leave a Reply

 
